Beberapa hari yang lepas, salah seorang 後輩 (Junior) telah berkongsi sebuah artikel yang begitu kontroversi dikarangkan oleh salah seorang "imam" di Jpon.. Artikel tersebut berbunyi seperti dibawah~
Ruling on Istihaalah (process to change a substance to something else)
In a statement issued by the Islamic Medical Sciences Organization in Kuwait – which discussed the issue of haram and impure substances in food and medicine, from 22-24 Dhu’l-Hijjah 1415 AH/ 22-24 May 1995 – it says:
[6.] Food substances which include pork fat in their ingredients which has not undergone any process to change it to something different, like some kinds of cheese, oils, fats, ghee, butter and some kinds of biscuits, chocolate and ice cream, are haraam, and it is not permissible to eat them at all, based on the consensus of the scholars that pork fat is impure (naajis) and it is not permissible to eat it, and because there is no need to consume this substance. End quote.
It may become halal if the fat has turned (via some process) into something else, so that it is no longer called fat and does not have the characteristics of fat. If that is the case then it does not come under the same ruling. This is what the scholars call istihaalah (process to change a substance to something else) and it may be looked at from two angles. That which was good and permissible but has become bad and impure, is now haram, and that which was bad and impure but has become permissible and good is now halaal.
Imam Ibn al-Qayyim said:
Based on this principle, alcohol is impure, even though its origin is pure. If the reason for its being regarded as impure is no longer present, then it is to be regarded as pure. This is the basis of sharee’ah and the basis of reward and punishment.
Based on this, the correct analogy is that this principle may be applicable to all other impurities if they have gone through a process of change. It is not the origin of a thing that matters, but what it is now. It is impossible for the ruling on impurity to remain when the name and character of the thing have changed.
The ruling is connected to the name and character, and is present or absent depending on whether they are present or absent. The texts which deal with the prohibition on dead meat, blood, pork and alcohol do not deal with crops, fruits, sand, salt, soil or vinegar, whether in wording or meaning or text or analogy. Those who distinguished between the change (istihaalah) of alcohol and other things said that alcohol becomes naajis because of the process of change, then it may become pure because of a further process of change. It was said to them that blood, urine and faeces became impure because of a process of change so they may become pure because of a further process of change. Thus analogy is in accordance with the text. I’laam al-Muwaqqi’een (2/p. 14, 15)
In a statement issued by the Islamic Medical Sciences Organization in Kuwait – which discussed the issue of Haraam and impure substances in food and medicine, from 22-24 Dhu’l-Hijjah 1415 AH/ 22-24 May 1995 – it says:
[8.] Istihaalah (process of change) means that a substance changes into another substance with different characteristics, so an impure substance may change into a pure substance, and a haraam substance may change into one that is permissible according to sharee’ah.
Based on that:
1)Gelatin which is produced by the change of the bones, skin and tendons of impure animals is taahir and it is permissible to eat it.
2)Soap that is produced by the change of fat from pigs or dead meat becomes pure by means of this process and it is permissible to use it.
3) Cheese which is made by using rennet from dead meat of animals whose meat is permissible is taahir and it is permissible to eat it.
4)Ointments, creams and cosmetics that contain pork fat are not permissible to use unless there is certainty that the fat has undergone a process of change (istihaalah) and turned into a different substance.
But if there is no certainty, then they are naajis (impure).
And Allah knows best.
Mohsen Shaker Bayoumy
Imam of Osaka Ibaraki Mosque
Artikel ini begitu mengejutkan terutama kami yang menuntut di negara bukan Islam dan sering menghadapi masalah ketika memilih makanan yang boleh dimakan.. Sebagai salah seorang penggemar manisan, gelatin sememangnya musuh ketat ak jadi adanya artikel begini sedikit sebanyak memberi lampu hijau untuk ak longgarkan sedikit apa yang sememangnya ketat.. Tapi nanti dulu!! Kita dikehendaki membuat rujukan terlebih dahulu sebelum menerima sesuatu berita seperti yang difirmankan Allah dalam surah Al-Hujurat ayat 6 yang berbunyi:
Persoalan pertama ialah bagaimana gelatin itu dihasilkan dan adakah betul sifat haiwan tersebut akan hilang menerusi proses penghasilan gelatin tersebut?? Berikut merupakan hasil "kajian" ak mengenai gelatin:
Gelatine is not a naturally occurring protein, but is derived from the fibrous protein collagen, which is the principal constituent of animal skin, bone, sinew and connective tissue. A very complex chemical procedure is undertaken to extract the gelatine from its raw stage and make it usable for consumption and otherwise. A detail follows on how gelatine is extracted from animal hides in 8 different stages to form the final product.
Raw materials intended for medicinal use and food production are generally skin and bone of pig or calf. Some plants use animal tendons, ligaments, bones, cartilage’s and hooves. In the case of animal hides, the prime source of gelatine, leather tanneries wash them in lime solution and chemicals are added to dissolve the hair from the surface. The hides are then sent through various machines which remove traces of meat from underneath the hide and then split the hide horizontally into a number of thin sheets. The top sheets are used in leather production as it has the grain pattern on the surface whilst the bottom layers, known as split hides, are used in gelatine production.
Animal hides are preserved in lime solution [pH 13-14] The hides are chopped into pieces 6-8 inches in size and allowed to soak in caustic soda solution. Approximately 1% strength is used, reducing a little in the warm summer months. The soak in caustic soda lasts about 2-3 weeks which has the effect of breaking down [denaturing] the protein, enabling it to be extracted into hot water.
Following the soak, the hide pieces are pumped into special washing equipment. Acid is added to acidify the hides [pH 1.5-2.0] and then washed to remove impurities and salts for 8 hours.
The washed hide pieces are pumped into large extraction tanks where hot water is added and temperature maintained at about 50c. The hides break down slowly in the slightly acid solution [pH 3.0-3.5] to form gelatine. This is drained off once at certain strengths and then fresh hot water is added at a higher temperature to give another extraction. 3 further extractions are made, producing gelatines of different physical properties, [e.g. setting strength and viscosity].
The gelatine solution drained from the heated hide pieces is then purified. The first stage is filtration and the final stage is through a 2 micron filter to give a solution of high clarity. The gelatine is then de-ionised in order to remove excess salts not removed during washing.
Following purification, the gelatine solution is evaporated in large vacuum evaporators to a strength of about 30%.
Before drying, the gelatine is sterilised to remove all bacteria. The conditions used are standard in the Food industry - 140c at 4 seconds minimum.
The Gelatine solution is chilled to make it set, and then placed in a drying tunnel for 2-3 hours. It leaves the tunnel dry, and is broken into granules for storage purposes.
Gelatine is commercially available in sheets, shreds, flakes or coarse powder. It is white or yellowish, has a slight but characteristic odour and taste and is stable in dry air but subject to microbial decomposition if moist or in solution. It is insoluble in cold water but swells and softens when immersed gradually absorbing 5 to 10 times its own mass of water. In hot water it dissolves to form a thick colloidal mucilage which forms a jelly on cooling. Gelatine varies widely on quality and is usually graded in jelly strengths.
In its raw form it is used for the treatment of brittle finger nails and other non fungal defects but proof of efficiency of such treatment is lacking. It is also used in the preparation of many pastes, throat pastilles, vaginal pessaries and rectal suppositories. Gelatine is the main ingredient in all hard and flexible capsules. Many older tablet formulations still contain gelatine as a binding agent. The most important value in therapy is as an easily digested adjuvant food-when supplemented, it is very widely used for various forms of malnutrition, gastric hyperacidity and ulcer, convalescence and general diets of the sick.
Edible gelatine is used throughout the food industry, for example in confectionery, ice-creams, jellies, chocolates, sweets, jams, pastries, desserts, dairy products and the meat industry. It acts as a stabilizing and smoothing agent in foods. Gelatine is also used in the manufacture of rubber substitutes, adhesives, cements, lithographic and printing inks, photographic plates and films, matches, sizing papers and textiles.
Gelatin varieties and types
Other forms of gelatin exist to meet the needs of those wishing alternatives to meat products for various reasons. Those of the Jewish faith may eat animal gelatin only if it is extracted from permitted animals which have undergone ritual slaughter and excludes some forms including those made from pigs and certain types of fish.
is a type of gelatin extracted from the air bladders of certain fish, particularly sturgeon, but is rarely used these days.
also known as Irish moss,is a gelatinous thickening agent derived from seaweed which grows off the coast of Ireland. Irish moss is often used in making homebrews and meads.
(also agar-agar, kanten and Japanese gelatin is a dried seaweed sold in blocks, powder and strands which is used as a setting agent. Agar has stronger setting properties than gelatin, so use less when substituting.
occurs naturally in fruits and vegetables and is used in the preparation of jams, jellies and preserves. Gelatin can also be extracted from fish bones.
Islamic Law Regarding Gelatine
If the source of Gelatine is derived from a Halaal source then its usage is permissible, whilst if the source is Haraam or Mashbook [doubtful] then it will be considered Haraam. The hide matrix or gelatine protein is basically a piece of skin, which is hydrollised, washed, melted and extracted, purified, evaporated, sterilised, chilled, dried and granulated for further shelf life and easy use. Alkaline treatment tends to remove amide groups present on certain amino acid residues on the collagen protein chains resulting in a lowering of the isoelectric point and consequently an alteration not a transformation of the chemical and physical properties of the protein occurs. Despite the above method of changing a raw product into gelatine under tremendous chemical pressure still retains much of its chemical equation. The collagen triple helix structure is lost during this procedure but the resultant Gelatine product retains the original coil structure. The aspect of Tabdeel-e-Mahiyyat does not take place.
Rupa-rupanya topik ini bukan sesuatu yang baru apabila ak terjumpa ayat yang sama diperbincangkan didalam sebuah forum UK.. Dimulakan apabila salah seorang bertanyakan tentang kandungan gelatin bab1 dalam ubat H1N1~ Perbincangan menjadi kian hangat apabila ramai user mula mengatakan ini adalah sesat namun ayat di bawah benar-benar memberi suatu yang wajar kita fikirkan..
There is a rule in Fiqh (Islamic Jurisprudence) which talks about ‘Istihalah’. This refers to something that is ‘chemically’ changed and no longer can be taken back to its original form, the scholars gave examples of this rule in their works such as a pig transforming into salt, or feces transforming into soil. The most preponderant opinion regarding this is that the new substance that is chemically derived from the Haram is lawful to consume and use. This is the opinion of the Hanafi Scholars (al-Bahr ar-Ra’iq for Ibn Nujaim vol. 1, pg. 932), the majority of the Maliki scholars (Al-Qawanin al-Fiqhiyah pg. 43) and the opinion of Sheik Islam b. Taymiyyah (Majmoo al-Fatawa vol. 12 pg. 86) along with the Dhahiri Scholars (al-Muhal’la vol. 1 pg. 661-761). There are many proofs that prove the veracity of this rule.
Keep in mind that the scholars when talking about Istihalah were talking about a complete transformation and not a partial one, this is clear from the examples they gave regarding this issue, a pig transforming into salt and feces transforming into soil and so on. Now the question at hand, is gelatin a ‘chemically’ changed compound, such that the rule of Istihalah can be applied to it? The scholars who said it was a complete chemical transformation, stated that gelatin was lawful for consumption, and those who stated that it was not a complete chemical transformation stated that it was unlawful for consumption.
So we have two opinions, You want to be safe , then no doubt stay away!!! But you can not say one is correct and one is wrong!!!
Maybe NeverGoodEnough is Right and I did not Look At the Audiance of the thread, however Allah swt is the one who guides to the Haq. I did not start the thread, but the comments being made were ignorant, arrogant and no one was willing to actually converse believing that that may be wrong and the other was right.
As Imam Shafi said, He did not go into a debate but he prayed that the truth was on the other mans tongue or in another narration that Allah swt would show him the Haq on the other person Tongue.
Jazakallah khair, I apologise if i have offended or put anyone into doubt.
p/s Perbezaan pendapat antara ulama' adalah rahmat~